Tags

,

On a weekend road trip, far away from home, you stumble upon a garage sale in a neighborhood you’re passing through. Astonished, you find an object among the belongings for sale that you recognize. Tell us about it.

Memories for Sale

There was a big old box of stuff sitting on an old rocking chair. I felt immediately drawn to it.

Inside under a couple of old comics I spotted her.

Rebecca

I picked her up and ran my hands over her precious porcelain face, and yes she still had the tiny chip to her nose and the hairline crack over her left eye travelling up into her forehead disappearing under her dark auburn hair.

Her body felt soft and warm and the cotton was stained by years of loving. She was naked now, her faded pink dress she used to wear when I owned her had vanished, I think perhaps even melted into the ethers, from years and years of love, wear and tear ( But I could make her a new dress)

Her arms and legs were porcelain as well, I gently picked her up and leaned her into my body, she cried, that same cry she used to make when I held her oh so many years ago.

I felt like I was 7 years old again.

Rebecca and I reunited!

We returned home together, never to be parted again

pad2013

