Tags

, ,

Daily Prompt- Learning Style

You have to learn a new skill. Do you prefer to read about it, watch someone else do it, hear someone describe it, or try it yourself?

I have a fear of learning new skills, because I was so terrified in my schooling life, not because I was stupid, but because I felt so incredibly inadequate and stupid. I had absolute no self esteem, nada, ziltch, big zero! And I suffered with bouts of anxiety and fear of “being seen”

So when learning a new skill these days, I prefer to be shown, and watch someone else perform the task first, it takes all my courage to not dissolve back into fear. I am learning through my fears how to accept learning. And of course my biggest fear is not being good enough, but how do I get good at something if I’m not prepared to learn…right?

